Legal News

University Act Amendments Tabled

The Advanced Education Minister has tabled amendments to the University Act to allow the Province to designate special purpose teaching universities.

The proposed amendments follow the recommendations in the Campus 2020 report and a Throne Speech commitment to giving students greater access to university degree programs closer to home. Three B.C. university-colleges, one community college and a provincial institute will become special purpose teaching universities: University of the Fraser Valley, Kwantlen Polytechnic University, Vancouver Island University, Capilano University and the Emily Carr University of Art and Design. The new universities will offer specialized programs which meet the education and training needs in the regions they serve.

The Ministry will work with the institutions to ensure that they are fully prepared for the transition. Tuition at the new universities will not rise to current university levels, existing collective agreements will continue to apply to their unionized employees, and the Province expects them to continue membership in the Post-Secondary Employers’ Association.

(Link to Bill 34)